Sunday 09 August 2020

About ICDP

In recent years, a clear and growing trend towards the abolition of the death penalty in the world has become increasingly notable. This is due to the development of an international movement promoted by International and Regional Organizations, relevant civil society actors and representatives of the political world.

However, despite all the efforts and achievements to date, there are still many places in the world where the use of the death penalty is still practiced.

The Spanish Government launched an initiative to establish the International Commission against the Death Penalty (ICDP) in order to reinforce the fight against the death penalty in all regions of the world and in order to establish a moratorium on the use of the death penalty, with a view to its complete abolition. The initiative is supported by 18 countries representing all the regions of the world.

ICDP was established on 7 October 2010 in Madrid. Its mandate is to undertake complementary actions to the ones carried out by International and Regional Organizations, civil society and representatives of the political world, favouring the abolition of the death penalty.

In 2016, ICDP was established as a non-profit Association under Spanish law, following a decision of the Commissioners in December 2015. The Founding Act of ICDP was signed on 25 April 2016 in Madrid and as a result, ICDP’s Secretariat is now located in Madrid on a permanent basis.

The added value of ICDP lies in the importance of its members, their independence in decision making and broad geographical representation, giving it a high profile in the international arena, as well as a strategic and selective character when carrying out its objectives, with a view to achieving tangible results.

ICDP’s Commissioners are:

  • Federico Mayor Zaragoza (President): Former Director General, UNESCO (1987-1999); Minister of Education and Science, Spain (1981-1982); Member of European Parliament (1987).
  • Giuliano Amato: Former Prime Minister, Italy (1992-1993; 2000-2001).
  • Louis Arbour: Former UN High Commissioner of Human Rights (2004-2008).
  • Robert Badinter: Former Minister of Justice, France (1981-1986).
  • Mohammed Bedjaoui: Former Foreign Minister, Algeria (2005-2007); Judge, International Court of Justice (1982-2001).
  • Marc baron Bossuyt: emeritus professor of International Law of the University of Antwerp, Belgium; Member of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination and a Member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration.
  • Marzuki Darusman: Former UN Special Rapporteur for North Korea (2010-2016); Former Attorney General, Indonesia (1999-2001).
  • Ruth Dreifuss: Former President (1999) and Minister of Home Affairs, Switzerland.
  • Michèle Duvivier Pierre-Louis: Former Prime Minister, Haiti (2008-2009).
  • Asma Jilani Jahangir: Former United Nations Special Rapporteur on Arbitrary, Summary and Extrajudicial Executions (2002-2010).
  • Ioanna Kuçuradi: UNESCO Chair of Philosophy and Human Rights (1998-present); Professor and Philosophy and Director of Center of Research and Application of Human Rights, Maltepe University, Istanbul, Turkey (2006-present).
  • Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo: Former President, The Philippines (2001-2010).
  • Rodolfo Mattarollo: Former Deputy Secretary for Human Rights, Argentina (2005-2007).
  • Ibrahim Najjar: Former Justice Minister, Lebanon (2008-2011).
  • Bill Richardson: Former Governor, New Mexico, USA (2002-2010).
  • José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero: Former Prime Minister, Spain (2004-2011).
  • Hanne Sophie Greve: Judge and Vice President of the Gulating High Court for Western Norway and former Judge at the European Court of Human Rights (1998-2004).
  • Marta Vilardell Coma: Former Spanish Ambassador on Humanitarian Affairs, Social issues and against the Death Penalty( 2015).

Structure of ICDP

The Commission is currently composed of 19 members and chaired by a President. It is backed by the Support Group. The Commission and the Support Group have a Secretariat.

Please click here for a detailed information on the Structure and Organization of the ICDP.

a website designed and hosted by Creative Monster.